Count Defense Signal (March 1, 2021)

Last week, we looked at the attitude signal (see February 22, 2021 notes). Another
extremely important type of defensive signal is the COUNT SIGNAL.

When declarer (or dummy) leads a suit, the attitude signal becomes relatively useless. If
declarer is voluntarily attacking a suit, it is hardly likely that a defender also wants to
attack it.

General Rule:

When declarer leads a plain suit (any suit except trump), a defender will echo (play
high-low) to indicate that he holds an even number of cards in that suit. And, he will
play his lowest card first to indicate that he holds an odd number of cards in the suit.
Let's look at the example below.



North

853

65

863

KQJ105
West East Bidding: S W N E
1097 642 2N P 3N P
K10873 J9 All Pass
Q2 KJ754
932 A76

South

AKQIJ

AQ42

A109

84

Contract:  3NT

Opening Lead: 7 of hearts

Play of the Hand:

East plays the jack of hearts, which declarer wins with the queen. At trick 2, he leads
the 4 of clubs. The final result of this hand is going to depend on when East plays his

ace of clubs.

If East wins the first round of clubs and returns the 9 of hearts, declarer will score two
heart tricks, four spades, four clubs and one diamond for a total of eleven tricks.

If East holds up his ace twice and wins the third round, the declarer makes only two club
tricks, four spades, two hearts and one diamond for a total of nine tricks—making his
contract.

But, if East takes his ace on the second round, the declarer can make only one club trick
for a total of eight tricks—down one.



NOTE: East does best to take his ace on the same trick that the declarer plays his last
club. Certainly the declarer is NOT going to tell the defenders how many clubs

he has!

Enter the purpose of the Count Signal. When South leads the first club, West MUST
indicate whether he has an odd number or even number of clubs. He should play the
two to indicate an odd number. Once East knows his partner holds an odd number of
clubs, he has no trouble figuring out that South holds only two clubs. Thus, he holds up
his ace of clubs exactly once and the rest is history. The contract is set!

Without the count signal by West, East would have had to guess when to take the
ace of clubs.

Let's look at another example:

North

654

KQIJ2

Q62

1082
West East
I3 102
6543 A109
10853 KJ9%4
KI5 Q976

South

AKQ987

87

A7

A43

Contract: 4 spades by South

Opening Lead: 3 of diamonds



Play of the Hand:

West leads the 3 of diamonds which is covered by the queen, king and won by South's
ace.

Declarer draws trumps and then leads the heart seven to the king. Note that there are no
outside entries to the dummy. Again, West MUST give count so that East will know
when to take his ace of hearts.

Holding an even number of hearts, West should play the SIX (his highest) on the first
heart lead. Now East knows that her partner has an even number. Don't fool around by
playing the five. Play the highest one you can afford to play when giving count to your
partner.

East figures that South originally held a doubleton heart. Accordingly, she ducks the
first heart lead and wins her ace on the second heart lead. The end result is that declarer
is cut off from the dummy and is able to score only one trick in the heart suit. East/West
has set the contract!

See how valuable the count signal is in defending either a notrump or a suit contract,
especially where the dummy has no outside entries.

Should you always give count?

Normally, when declarer plays a suit, the defenders should usually give count.

Although the count signal can be most helpful to the defenders in counting the delcarer's
hand, the signal acts as a two-edged sword. Just as with the Rule of Eleven, the declarer
gets an easy count on the defenders' hands as well. For example, playing against
opponents who always give exact count, the declarer is often able to figure out how to
play a suit.



North

Q1054
West East
J963 82
South
AK7

South plays off his AK of spades and notices that East and West are both high-lowing
each other to show an even number of spades. When South leads his seven, he knows
he can safely finesse the ten in the dummy.

Good players know when to give the count signal and when not to do so. In the above
example, West can see the four spades in the dummy, he should “false card”. Here, it is
not important for East to “know” how many cards West holds in the spade suit.

SUMMARY: You should give a true count signal only when you judge that
your partner will find it helpful.




The following hand comes from Edwin Kantar's Defensive Bridge Play.

Both sides are vulnerable
Dealer: South

North
74
Q32
65 Bidding: S W N E
AQJ842 ID P 2C P
3N P P P
West East
J1096 Q85
108 K9764 Opening lead: Jack of spades
J987 Q102
973 Ko6
South
AK32
AJS
AK43
105
Play of the Hand:

When West leads the jack of spades, East signals with the eight. Declarer wins with the
king. At trick two, the declarer leads the 10 of clubs, West gives count by playing the 3
of clubs, which indicates an odd number of clubs. The two is played from the dummy.

You are East. Do you have the nerves of steel to play low!!! You know your partner
has an odd number of clubs. Play the six. Don't sit there and think. Just play the six.
Declarer will repeat the club finesse immediately. Now you take your king and return
the queen of spades. Now the declarer cannot make the contract.

You may argue that South will play the ace of clubs the second time; but, the majority of
declarers will finesse.

NO GUTS, NO GLORY!




Card Combinations

You are missing the king and the jack. How do you play the following hands to
maximize the number of tricks you can take?

Hand 1. AQI105

432
Finesse the 10 first and then the queen.
Hand 2. AQ965

432
Finesse the 9 and then the queen.
Hand 3. A1065

Q432

Cash the ace; then lead toward the queen.

Chuck Bricken sent in the following combinations. You are in a 3NT contract. West
leads a small spade. The following are your holdings in the suit. How do you play each
to maximize the number of tricks you can take in the suit?

Hand 1. Kx
Jxx

This combination is like the Qx/Jxx or the Jxx/Qx holdings. DUCK the first trick in
order to guarantee one trick in the suit.

Hand 2. Jx
Kxx
Play the jack now. If West has led from the AQ and you can keep East out of the lead,

you will have a double stop in the suit. Note: Be careful to try to take all finesses into
West's hand—the safe hand. The jack will be useless unless you play it now.



Hand 3. Qx
Kxx

Same principle as in Hand 2. Play the queen hoping West has led from the AJ.

If it holds, you need to be careful to take all finesses into the West hand. West cannot
attack the led suit without giving you the king. Note: the play of the accompanying
small card will hardly be successful. Even if East holds the ace, he should not put it on
the small card; but, wait to capture the king. Thus, holding you to one trick in the suit.

Hand 4. Kxx
Qxx
Play low. If East plays the ace then both your king and queen are good. If he doesn't

then your queen takes the trick and your king will be good for a second trick if West has
led from the ace.

And, now I have a surprise for you! A Pop Quiz

Dummy
754
K63
KQJ10 Bidding: S W N E
1042 1IC P 1D P
YOU EAST 2N P 3N P
1098632 ? P P
7
7652
Q7
South
?

Against 3NT you lead the spade 10 and partner plays the queen. Declarer wins the ace
and leads a diamond at trick two. Which diamond do you play?



Answer: Play the seven, the highest card you can spare to tell your partner that
you have an even number of cards in the suit.

The above hand and several of the examples in this document were taken from Dorothy
Hayden Truscott's book on Bid Better, Play Better, How to Think at the Bridge Table.

Next Week: Focus will be on the Suit Preference Signal.



