
Second Hand Play (March 22, 2021)

GENERAL RULE:   If you are second hand, you should play low unless you have
  a definite reason for not doing so.

Example 1. Q642

AJ3

South leads the five.  You are West.  Which card do you play?

Answer:   LOW.  If you play low, dummy is forced to play the queen.  Either
your partner will win with the king or, if the queen holds the trick, you now retain
the A-J over declarer's king.  If you play the ace, then declarer can win tricks with his queen 
and king, should he hold that card.

Example 2. K642

AJ3

South leads the five.  You are West.  Which card do you play?

Answer:  LOW, unless you suspect South has a singleton and is trying to steal a trick with
the king.  Usually, declarer makes such a lead early on in the hand before the defenders can get 
a “count” on his hand.

Example 3. KJ94

A1032

South leads the five.  You are West.  Which card do you play?

Answer:  LOW.  If partner has the queen, he should be given a chance to make it.  If declarer 
has the queen, it is useless to come up with the ace, because the declarer will lose only one trick
in the suit.



Example 4. A1032

J4

South leads the five.  You are West.  Which card do you play?

Answer:  If West improperly plays the jack hoping “to force the ace”, it will do him no good.  
You may argue that it will help your partner.  This is a wrong argument.  It can do your partner 
good only if he has the king or the queen, in which case he won't need your help.   Either the 
ace comes up or your partner will win the trick.

However, the play of the jack might do your partner a lot of harm if the complete holding is as 
follows:

A1032

J4 Q76

K985

When South leads the five and West correctly plays low, the defense MUST win a trick despite 
how the declarer plays.

Example 5. AQ1042

K53 J7

986

South leads the six.  You are West.  Which card do you play?

Answer:  Don't play the king to “force out the ace!”  You should play LOW.  With this holding,
declarer should take the deep finesse of the 10 (see  Hand 1 under the Card Combination 
section from the March 1st lesson).  His ten will lose to your partner's jack.  If you play the 
king, then declarer's queen will drop your partner's jack.  And, your side will get NO tricks in 
the suit.

NOTE:  Try not to put your honor cards on deuces!



Example 6.  A102

QJ6

When South leads a low card, the play of the jack is proper in order to force out the ace.  This 
play will assure your side of a trick.  But, if the holding were as follows:

A753

QJ6

Here, it would be improper to play the jack in order to force out the ace.  The declarer does not 
intend to play low.  A big danger in playing the jack is that your partner might hold the 
singleton king.

Finally, you must cover an honor with your honor in the next example.  Why?

Example 7. AQxxx

Kxx 10xx

Jx

Answer:  West should cover the jack with his king which forces the ace.  Declarer can play his 
queen hoping to drop the 10.  If you do not cover the jack, your side will not win any tricks in 
the suit.  However, if you cover the jack with your king, then your partner's 10 will take the 
third trick in the suit.

You should play high when an honor card is led.   For example, if the KQ743 is in the dummy 
and you hold the A5 and the declarer leads the jack, you should play your ace.  If you duck, you
will find yourself placing your ace on the deuce the next time!



General Principle:  You should cover an honor with an honor if it is possible to
          promote a card(s) for either you or your partner.

Example 8.  a. North
AK109

West (you) East
Q32 ?

South
J (?)

When South leads the jack, should West (you) cover with the queen?  No. West cannot promote
anything for himself or his partner.  Smoothly play the two.  South may have only a doubleton 
and will go up with his ace or king.

Example 8.  b. North
AK108

West (you) East
Q32 9xxx

South
J (?)

When South leads the jack, now West should cover with his queen.  Unlike the previous 
holding, there is a chance to promote a card for his partner in the event he holds “9xxx” in the 
suit being led.

Sometimes the length you hold in a suit precludes covering as is illustrated in Example 9 
below.

Example 9. North
A54

West (you) East
K762 ?

South
Q (?)

Assume that South has bid clubs which ultimately become trumps.  He leads the queen of 
clubs.  Should West cover with his king?  No.  He can see that the ace will fall on the third
round.  His king will win the fourth round of the suit.  If you mistakenly cover, you will not 
take any tricks in the suit.



Example 10 below shows another situation in which second hand should play high.  In the case 
where you have touching honors and the dummy has only one honor, you should “split your 
honors” to ensure the taking of one trick.

Example 10. North
A109x

West (you) East
KQx ?

South
J (?)

When South leads the jack, you should play the queen (split your honors”).  At notrump you 
will always take at least one trick; however, in a suit contract, declarer may only have two of 
the suit he is leading.  Therefore, it is imperative for you to “split your honors” in order to 
ensure yourself of one trick in the suit.

GENERAL RULE: Always cover the last EQUAL honor that is being led
from the dummy.

Example 11 illustrates this rule.

North Bidding: S     W     N     E
742 1N   P      2C   P
QJ92 2S    P      3N   P
A53 P      P
K76

West East Opening Lead:  Ace of spades
AKQJ 86
1087 K65
J987 1042
32 109854

South
10953
A43
KQ6
AQJ

Analysis of the Hand:

West cashes the first four tricks, dummy discarding a heart and East discarding two clubs.  
West shifts to a club and declarer cashes three clubs, ending in the dummy.  (West should 
discard a diamond and HOLD onto his hearts.)  Why?



Now the queen of hearts is led from dummy.  East sees the queen and jack; so, he should follow
the rule of covering the LAST equal honor he can see and play low.  If the jack is led next, East
should now cover.  Now, West's ten becomes high.  This is the answer to the “Why?” West 
must not thoughtlessly discard a heart.

NOTE:  If East covers the queen, South wins and then finesses dummy's nine on the way back
—to lose no heart tricks and make his contract.  The main reason for not covering a queen is 
that the player with the queen also holds the J and 9.  By covering prematurely, you expose 
your partner to a finesse.

GENERAL RULE:  When your partner has opened a long suit at notrump, you should
win a trick early in order to continue playing your partner's suit
while he still has a possible entry with which to cash his long suit.

Example 12.
North
K6
8432
QJ97
K106

West East Contract:  3NT
QJ1085 973
K105 A96 Opening Lead:  Queen of spades
43 10652
Q97 J84

South
A42
QJ7
AK8
A532

Analysis of the Hand:

South becomes the declarer at 3NT.  West leads the queen of spades which is won in the 
dummy with the king.  Declarer leads the two of hearts.  Here, East should NOT play second 
hand low.  He needs to play the ace and return the seven of spades to clear partner's spade suit 
in case partner gets in to cash his now good spade suit.  East has to hope that West has an entry 
card.  Note the difference if East plays a low heart.  The declarer will play his queen.  West will
have to win with his king of hearts, the only possible entry he has (other than the club queen).

A spade continuance will be refused by the declarer (notice that he saves the ace of spades until
East has no more spades left to lead).   Now when spades are established, unfortunately, West 
will have no entry card with which to cash the good spade suit.



The final example is a real test of your developing skills as a defender!  Most defenders would 
not get this one correct.  *This hand was taken from Edwin Kantar's Defensive Bridge Play.

Example 13. North
1072
A832
AKQ2
109

West East Bidding:   S     W      N       E
KJ93 A65      1C    P       1D     P  
Q5 764      1H    P       4H     P
1043 9876       P      P
5432 Q76

South Opening Lead:  Three of spades
Q64
KJ109
J5
AKJ8 

Analysis of the Hand:

West leads the unbid suit.  East wins the ace and returns the suit, the defense collecting the first 
three spade tricks.  At trick four West shifts to a small diamond.  Declarer wins the jack and 
plays the jack of hearts.  If West is not ready for this play the defense falls apart.  West must 
play low.  South will probably rise with the ace and finesse the ten on the way back (his proper 
percentage play).

_____________________________

Next Week:  Preemptive Bidding—Part I


