## **DRAFT**

## MINUTES Meeting of Unit 231 Board of Directors December 19, 2022

The Board of directors for Unit 231 met via Zoom on Monday, December 19, 2022. John Markey, Unit President, called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

ROLL: John Markey, Doug Althouse, Irene Jacobs, Carole Spencer, Necia Evans, Preston Collins, Sally Kizer, Richard Huber.

- 1. Carole Spencer, Secretary, verified that a quorum was present for the meeting.
- 2. Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved the minutes of the July 18, 2022, meeting. A copy of the minutes will be placed on the Administration Page of the Unit 231 Website.
- 3. On October 31, 2022, the President sent an email to the Board as follows:

Dear Board Members,

The Holiday Party Committee (Sally Kizer, Necia Evans, Carol Robey, and yours truly ex officio) hereby presents its recommendations for the 2022 holiday party for board vote via email.

The Holiday Party Committee proposes to cancel the previously-approved December 3, 2022, unit-wide holiday party. Instead, each active club in the unit may have its own holiday party with a subsidy from the unit. Specifically:

- Club holiday parties are open to all players and unit members who meet the club's vaccination rules.
- All players and unit members may attend more than one holiday party.
- Clubs are not required to hold a duplicate bridge game along with their holiday party.
- No two clubs may plan a holiday party on the same date.
- Upon request by an active unit club, the Unit will reimburse holiday party expenses up to \$10 per active unit member in attendance.
- Unit reimbursements are limited to \$320 per club (8 full tables).
- Unit clubs may hold any type of party they choose.
- Unit clubs may set the fee for their holiday party at any amount they choose.
- Holiday parties must be held during December 2022.

On November 6, 2022, the Board gave electronic approval for the above recommendations made by the Unit Holiday Party Committee.

- 4. The Board accepted and filed the Treasurer's Report.
- 5. John Markey presented a slate of Nominees for Unit 231 seats for 2023-2025.

Douglas Althouse

**Preston Collins** 

Michael Craig

Necia Evans

Richard Huber

John Markey

Carol Pressman

Carol Robey

Karen Shimchock

Richard Veilleux

Charles Wills

- 6. The Board approved unanimously the slate.
- 7. The President thanked the following individuals who have completed their terms and have moved off the Board: Richard Rio, Charles Bricken, Carole Spencer, Connie Lyons, Teresa Hall, Sally Kizer and Thomas Gilpin.
- 8. The meeting adjourned at 4:12 PM.

Respectfully submitted:

Carole Spencer Secretary, Unit 231