MINUTES

Meeting of Unit 231 Membership January 5, 2025

The Unit 231 Membership met via ZOOM on Sunday, January 5, 2025. Preston Collins, Unit President, called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

ROLL: Preston Collins, Carol Pressman, Irene Jacobs, Richard Rio, Douglas Althouse, David Nova, Karen Shimchock, Mary Moore, Barbara Johnson, Nancy Griggs, Reed Embrey, Lewis Singer, Patricia Booton, Sally Kizer, John Markey and Carole Spencer.

- 1. Carole Spencer, Secretary, announced that a Quorum of the membership was present.
- 2. Irene Jacobs, Treasurer, presented the Treasurer's Report. The report was received and filed.
- 3. The Board approved Sally Kizer's request to be reimbursed for her cost in taking the ACBL Director's Course.
- 4. The President presented an overview of Unit activities including:

Praising the growth and initiatives of the Bridge Club of Roanoke Valley.

Expressing appreciation to Charles Bricken, Sally Kizer and Carole Spencer for their efforts to keep the Blacksburg club afloat during the illness of Richard Huber.

Commending Richard Rio for establishing a newly sanctioned club, The Blacksburg Bridge Club, which will meet on Fridays at 12:30 PM at the Blacksburg Recreation Center.

- 5. The President presented a summary of the Sectional Tournament held in Roanoke on October 25-27, 2024. He thanked Karen Shimchock/Barbara Johnson (food), Carol Robey/Mary Moore (decorations), and, all the many others who assisted in making the tournament a huge success.
- 6. The President led a discussion regarding the holding of a Local Sectional Tournament on October 10-12, 2025.
- 7. The President thanked Carol Pressman, Chair of the Nomination Committee, for putting together the slate of Directors and Officers for 2025.
- 8. The President thanked outgoing members Carol Robey, Karen Shimchock and Irene Jacobs for their service to the Board. Irene served as the Treasurer for over ten years.
- 9. The President moved the approval of Lewis Singer, Richard Rio, Barbara Johnson, and Mary Moore as new Board members for 2025. The motion passed.
- 10. The President moved the approval of Preston Collins (President), Carol Pressman (Vice President), Lewis Singer (Treasurer) and Carole Spencer (Secretary) as Unit Officers for 2025. The motion passed.
- 11. The meeting adjourned at 2:20 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Carole Spencer Unit Secretary